History of the Press

History of The University of Alabama Press

The University of Alabama Press was founded in the fall of 1945 with J. B. McMillan as founding director. Its first work appeared in February 1946.

As the scholarly publishing arm of the university, The University of Alabama Press serves as an agent in the advancement of learning and the dissemination of scholarship. The Press applies the highest standards to all phases of publishing including acquisitions, editorial, production, and marketing. An editorial board comprised of representatives from six doctoral-degree-granting public universities within Alabama oversees the publishing program. Projects are selected that support, extend, and preserve academic research. The Press also publishes books that foster an understanding of the history and culture of this state and region. The Press publishes in a variety of formats, both print and electronic, and uses short-run technologies to ensure that the works are widely available.

UAP has won numerous awards for its publications over the years and has developed a solid list of titles in archaeology, public administration, and several areas of literature and history. With a staff of 17, the Press publishes between 80 to 85 books a year and has a backlist of approximately 1,800 titles in print.

The University of Alabama Press has also fostered several publishing partnerships with such institutions as the Birmingham Museum of Art, Samford University, the Jule Collins Smith Museum, and the Pebble Hill Center for the Humanities at Auburn University. Additionally, UAP serves as the publisher of the Fiction Collective Two (FC2) imprint for experimental fiction. The press has been a member of the Association of University Presses since 1964.

Editorial Board

Dr. Lesley Gordon
Chair, Professor and Charles G. Summersell Chair of Southern History in Department of History, The University of Alabama

Dr. John Abbott
Chief Curator & Director, Department of Museum Research & Collections Affiliated Staff, Alabama Museum of Natural History

Dr. Philip J. Carr
Professor of Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work and Chief Calvin McGhee Endowed Professor of Native American Studies, The University of South Alabama

Dr. Donald Gilstrap
Dean, The University of Alabama Libraries

Dr. Jolene Hubbs
Associate Professor of American Studies, The University of Alabama

Dr. Heather Miyano Kopelson
Associate Professor of History, The University of Alabama

Dr. Monique Laney
Associate Professor of History, Auburn University

Dr. John Maddox
Associate Professor of Spanish, The University of Alabama at Birmingham

Dr. Yolanda Manora
Associate Professor of English, The University of Alabama

Dr. Louis Marino
Professor, Strategic Management and James D. Nabors Instructional Excellence Faculty Fellow, The University of Alabama

Dr. Chad Thomas
Associate Professor of English and Director of Women’s and Gender Studies Program, The University of Alabama in Huntsville

Dr. Natasha Zaretsky
Professor of History, The University of Alabama at Birmingham

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com