Log In | Account Info
Cart | Checkout
     
 
Darkroom, Darkroom, 081738619X, 0-8173-8619-X, 978-0-8173-8619-1, 9780817386191, , , Darkroom, 0817357149, 0-8173-5714-9, 978-0-8173-5714-6, 9780817357146,

Darkroom
A Memoir in Black and White
by Lila Quintero Weaver

E Book
2012. 264 pp.
illus
978-0-8173-8619-1
Price:  $24.95 d
Quality Paper
2012. 264 pp.
illus
978-0-8173-5714-6
Price:  $24.95 t

Darkroom: A Memoir in Black and White is an arresting and moving personal story about childhood, race, and identity in the American South, rendered in stunning illustrations by the author, Lila Quintero Weaver.
 
In 1961, when Lila was five, she and her family emigrated from Buenos Aires, Argentina, to Marion, Alabama, in the heart of Alabama’s Black Belt. As educated, middle-class Latino immigrants in a region that was defined by segregation, the Quinteros occupied a privileged vantage from which to view the racially charged culture they inhabited. Weaver and her family were firsthand witnesses to key moments in the civil rights movement.  But Darkroom is her personal story as well: chronicling what it was like being a Latina girl in the Jim Crow South, struggling to understand both a foreign country and the horrors of our nation’s race relations. Weaver, who was neither black nor white, observed very early on the inequalities in the American culture, with its blonde and blue-eyed feminine ideal. Throughout her life, Lila has struggled to find her place in this society and fought against the discrimination around her.

Lila Quintero Weaver received her BA from New College at The University of Alabama. She and her husband,Paul, live in Northport, Alabama. Darkroom is her first book.

“A vivid, insightful, and moving illustrated graphic memoir by Weaver, who emigrated from Argentina to the American South as a young girl in 1961, recounting her impressions of her family’s new and unexpected life in racist, rural Alabama during the civil rights movement. In beautiful gray-shaded drawings, Weaver depicts the reality of the segregated and newly integrated South and her struggle to position herself as an ally to her black classmates, only to find that it’s a path fraught with pitfalls from both sides of the divide.”
--Publishers Weekly

“Darkroom: A Memoir in Black and White is remarkable for its truth-telling about two important issues concerning Alabama’s past and present: the civil rights movement and immigration. These stories, rendered through the words and eyes of a young Latina girl who came from Argentina to Marion, Alabama, are made vivid and immediate through Weaver’s highly accessible drawings and dialogue. This is a book—about maturation, family, education, and social change—every schoolchild, parent, and citizen should experience.”
—Sena Jeter Naslund, author of Ahab’s Wife, Four Spirits, and Adam & Eve

“A truly incredible look at the civil rights movement. Darkroom offers a double view of that movement. A gem.”
—Nikki Giovanni, author of Gemini and On My Journey Now

“Lila Quintero Weaver’s Darkroom is an impressive debut work. A memoir in the vein of Alison Bechdel’s Fun Home and Howard Cruse’s Stuck Rubber Baby, Weaver’s mesmerizing tale is matched by her accomplished drawing and design skills. Darkroom is the story of a childhood, of a Latino immigrant family, of the struggle for justice in the Deep South. Weaver’s appealing pencil renderings perfectly capture the book’s themes of being caught in the middle, witness to (and participant in) one of the most turbulent periods in American history.”
—Josh Neufeld, author of A.D.: New Orleans After the Deluge

 

“From the moment I began Darkroom, I felt enveloped and embraced by its drama, tenderness, wit, and wonderful art. It is a visually powerful work whose narrative flow carried me along effortlessly.”—Howard Cruse, author of Stuck Rubber Baby

The artwork is visually stunning, far superseding my expectations for a small university press. The black-and-white illustrations are emotionally arresting and filled with small details that extend gaps in the storytelling. Weaver’s talent is most observable in her ability to portray a range of emotions and situations with a vividness that places the reader within the time period. Considering the current political climate towards Latinos in Alabama, I would love to see her take on the new Juan Crow laws and compare those with the Jim Crow ones that she experienced firsthand as a young adult. Undoubtedly, her Darkroom will spark important classroom discussions and like all important books will be met with its share of criticisms for her use of graphic, true-to-life language and images present in the 1960s.”-- ¡Imagínense Libros!

“Lila Quintero Weaver’s understated and elegant memoir of growing up in the south during the upheaval and fast-moving changes of the Civil Rights era, told in Darkroom, is stunning, not only for its beautifully rendered imagery but also for its heartfelt text. This is a story told from a unique perspective. . . . Darkroom is a remarkably detailed historical account. . . . There is much to give this story heft. Weaver wisely lets the story unfold slowly and without great fanfare, focusing instead on the human lives inside it.”—Graphic Novel Reporter

2013 Notable Books for a Global Society book award sponsored by the Children's Literature and Reading Special Interest Group International Reading Association
2013 Druid Arts Award: Literary Artist given by the Arts Council of Tuscaloosa

Also of Interest

Year of the Pig
Mark J. Hainds


House by the Side of the Road
Richie Jean Sherrod Jackson


Klan Unmasked
Stetson Kennedy


Thirteen Loops
B. J. Hollars